In honour Of Karpal

May, 2014

THE newly launched Penang Learning Centre in Jalan Kaki Bukit, Bukit Gelugor, will be named after the late Bukit Gelugor MP Karpal Singh.

The centre is part of a RM4mil project which also includes the Penang Badminton Academy.
The project is a public-private partnership with ECM Libra Foundation funding the project and the state government contributing 1.06ha of land in Bukit Gelugor.

ECM Libra Foundation chairman Datuk Seri Kalimullah Hassan had suggested naming the learning centre after Karpal during the opening of the two buildings by Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng yesterday.
In his speech, Kalimullah said it would be an appropriate tribute to the late MP who had served the Bukit Gelugor constituency for many years.

“It is also my hope that those who pass through the centre will be inspired to pursue and cherish the principles of fair play and justice that Karpal held dear,” he said.

He added that the centre was aimed at providing learning opportunities for the underprivileged.

Kalimullah said the foundation’s focus was on educating the less privileged so they could escape poverty and contribute to nation building.

Lim accepted Kalimullah’s suggestion and also emphasised the importance of education in providing social mobility and economic opportunities.

“The learning centre will focus on Stem (Teaching of Science, Technology, English and Mathematics) education,” he said.
Speaking to journalists after the opening, Lim said the Penang Badminton Association would run the badminton academy while the state youth development corporation would run the learning centre.

The Chief Minister Incorporated would be in charge overall.

“Today is the official handover of the two buildings.

“The operating hours of the academy and the learning centre will be announced at a later time,” he said.

Also present at the launch were Karpal’s widow Gurmit Kaur and their son Jagdeep Singh Deo who is also state Housing, Town and Country Planning Committee chairman.

Others taking part in the opening ceremony were the Deputy Chief Minister 1 Datuk Mohd Rashid Hasnon and Deputy Chief Minister II Dr P. Ramasamy along with several state executive councillors and assemblymen.

From: The Star